Ramanuja Vijayaraghavan

physicst Ramanuja Vijayaraghavan profile

Country India
Year Of Birth 1931
Specialization Solid State Physics
Membership FASc, FNASc
Award INSA Senior Scientist, 1996-01

Ramanuja Vijayaraghavan earned his BSc (Hons) (Physics) (1951) from Annamalai University and PhD (1962) from Bombay University. He worked at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai from 1951 and served as Dean, Physics Faculty (1987-91). He retired as Distinguished Professor (1996) and thereafter, worked as INSA Senior Scientist (1996-2001) in SAMEER, IIT Campus, Mumbai. He briefly worked at the Fourier Institute, France (1959) as Research Scholar and at Osaka University, Japan (1976).

Vijayaraghavan started the Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) group in 1953 with Dharmatti. This group, having other facilities such as magnetic susceptibilities, became an internationally acclaimed group in the area of magnetism and solid state physics. He has several publications to his credit. He also taught graduate courses at TIFR, BARC and Bombay University. Two books on Magnetism and Superconductivity, featuring research articles, were published through World Scientific Publications, Singapore during his 60th birth celebrations in 1991.

Vijayaraghavan was twice elected as Member of International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) on Magnetism Commission.

Professor Vijayaraghavan was awarded SS Bhatnagar Prize in Physical Sciences (1976) and Raman Award by UGC (1983). He was elected Fellow of the Academy of Sciences, Bangalore and National Academy of Sciences (India), Allahabad.

Sign-up for our email newsletter and get free job alerts, current affairs and GK updates regularly.
Subscribe Here (or)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

6 + seven =

Popup Dialog Box Powered By : XYZScripts.com
  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Twitter