Astrology most often consists of a system of horoscopes purporting to explain aspects of a person’s personality and predict future events in their life based on the positions of the sun, moon, and other celestial objects at the time of their birth. The majority of professional astrologers rely on such systems.

Astrology consists of several systems of divination based on the premise that there is a relationship between astronomical phenomena and events in the human world. Many cultures have attached importance to astronomical events, and the Indians, Chinese, and Mayans developed elaborate systems for predicting terrestrial events from celestial observations.
Branches of Astrology
Western astrology has traditionally been divided into four major branches since the early Middle Ages. It is from these four branches that all other applications and subsets of western astrology are derived.

The four major branches of western astrology are:
1. Mundane astrology
2. Electional astrology
3. Natal astrology
4. Horary astrology

These branches are listed above in roughly the same chronological order in which they were developed or introduced into the astrological tradition, with mundane astrology being the earliest type that was developed, and horary astrology being the latest branch that was developed.

Each branch has a number of different subsets and applications within it. For example, mundane astrology includes such subsets as the study Jupiter-Saturn conjunctions or political events for cities and nations, whereas natal astrology has subsets such as synastry and medical astrology.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Get Alert

    Enter your email address:

  • Categories

  • Twitter

Subscribe Now!
Sign-up for our email newsletter and get free job alerts, current affairs and GK updates regularly.

Subscribe Here

Popup Dialog Box Powered By :
  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Twitter