List of First in India – General Knowledge

This is the Current Affairs study material for competitive exams.

First Governor-General of Independent India — Lord Lewis Mountbatten
Indian Governor-General of Independent India — Chakravarti Rajgopalachari
Chief of the Indian Armed Forces — General K. M. Carriappa
Field Marshall — General S. H. F. J. Manekshaw
President — Dr. Rajendra Prasad
Vice-President — Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan
Prime-Minister — Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru
Non-Congress Prime-Minister — Atal Behari Bajpai
British Governor-General of Bengal — Warren-Hastings
Space traveller — S. Leader-Rakesh Sharma
I. C. S. — Satendra Nath Tagore
Swimmer who crossed over the English channel by swimming — Mihir Sen
Raman-Magsaysay awardee — Acharya Vinoba Bhave
Novel prize winner — Rabindra Nath Tagore
President of National Congress — Vyomesh Chand Banerjee
Chairman of Lok Sabha — G. B. Mavlankar
Chief Election Commissioner — Sukumar Sen
Indian Chairman in International Court — Justice Dr. Nagendra Singh
Foreigner awardee of Bharat Ratna — Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan
Leader of the Indian Antarctica Mission — Dr. Syed Zahuv Quasim
Chief Justice of Supreme Court — Justice Hiralal J. Kaniya
Awarded with ‘Bharat Ratnas’ — Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, Chakravarti Rajgopalachari, Sir C. B. Raman
Posthumally Bharat Ratna Awardee — Lal Bahadur Shastri
Person awarded Bhartiya-Gyan-Peeth Purskar — G. Shankar Kurup (Malayalam–1965)
Successful Surgeon who transplanted heart — Dr. P. Venugopal
Successful heart transplanted person — Devi Ram (1994)
President of National Human Rights Commission — Justice Rangnath Mishra
Hindi Literature person-awarded Bhartiya Gyan Peeth Purskar — Sumitra Nandan Pant (1968)
Indian who won the World Billiard award — Wilson Jans
Indian who won the Grammy award — Pt. Ravi Shankar
Person delivered the Lecture in Hindi in U.N.O. — Atal Behari Bajpai (1977)
Indian member in British House of Commons — Dada Bhai Naoroji (1892)
First President of Indian Science Congress — Sir Asutosh Mukherjee
Mountaineer who scaled Mount Everest 8 times — Sherpa-Augarita
Writer who was awarded ‘Vyas Samman’ — Ramvilas Sharma
Indian Managing Director of World Bank — Gautam Kazi
Player awarded ‘Padam Bhusan’ — C. K. Naidu
Indian players played Davis Cup — M. Salim and S. M. Jacob (Singles), A. A. Faiyaz and L. S. Dare (Doubles) (1921)
Indian player who played the test cricket — K. S. Ranjeet Single (from England)
Scientist elected for Lok Sabha — Dr. Meghnad Saha
Scientist awarded Ghanshyam Das Birla award — Prof. Ashish Datta (1991)
Literature who was awarded Murti Devi Purskar — C. K. Nagraj Rao (1993)
Person, who became High Commission in Great Britain — V. K. Krishna-Menon
Indian who was awarded the Lenin Peace Prize — Dr. Safuddin Kichlu (1952)
First Indian who contested the election for British Parliament — Lal Mohan Ghose
An Indian, appointed the judge of High Court, during the British period — Ram Prasad Ram
Indian member of Viceroy Executive Council — Sir. S. P. Sinha
Chairman of Finance Commission — K. C. Niogi
Indian member of American Congress — Deleep Singh
Bowler who made hat-trick in Test Cricket — Harbhajan Singh
Batsman who made 300 runs in test Cricket — Virendra Sehwag
First Marshal of Indian Air Force — Arjan Singh
First Indian who individually won the Gold medel in Olympic games — Abhinav Bindra
First Indian who won the Bronze medel in Boxing in Olympic games — Vijendra Kumar

Sign-up for our email newsletter and get free job alerts, current affairs and GK updates regularly.
Subscribe Here (or)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six − = 2

Popup Dialog Box Powered By :
  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • Twitter